Hello Everyone, MSE here!

Today I will show you the processes that I followed in order to convert my patch into a standalone application and also all the issues that I have with it in this form.

The first step that needs to be taken in order to convert a Max MSP patch into a standalone application is to transform it into a project and consolidate it (doing these 2 steps will pull out all the additional components that are required to make the project working on its own; this includes any abstractions, collections, text files, pictures and in my case, plugins). After doing so, the project will be self-contained in a system of folders and subfolders and the organisation just got a lot easier.

The second step is to use the patcher inspector, project inspector and the standalone object inspector. Using these 3 you can configure exactly what files and from where will go into the final application. The standalone object allows you to choose whether you want to include extra libraries with the application, these libraries will take up more space, but in some cases, it will prevent it from crashing (what I did for my application was to create 2 versions of it, one that is usable and contains all the extra libraries, sized at 360 MB and one that is 20 MB below 100 and crashes every time). After configuring the presentation view for all of my patchers, I selected the open in presentation option from each patcher inspector so that it will always be appealing and tidy. The final step was to check the project inspector, verify the file search paths and make sure that the software won’t find multiple instances of the same object or file, and reconsolidate the entire project to clean everything up. After completing this task I created the application from the project inspector.

screen-shot-2017-02-24-at-16-43-00

Unfortunately, there was an issue that kept the application from functioning properly, loadbangs. With the desire to create an appealing and user friendly interface, I had to use a large number of loadbangs that would automatically configure different aspects of the project. A workaround for this issue was to enable the option that starts the loadbangs at startup regardless of the state of the keyboard or the computer.

The application works as expected but it still crashes from time to time, especially on the first time it is opened but by reopening it (sometimes just once sometimes a few times) it will start and it is usable.

Have a good one and I’ll see you in my next post!

MSE

